Your minty flavor kind of smells

I have Linux Mint.
Guilty. I just couldn’t stand Unity launcher in Ubuntu 12 and 13. I wanted a taskbar and I wanted a system menu. The Unity launcher just didn’t work for me. I was disoriented.

So I tried Mint Olivia. It looks pretty enough, and except for having to override some shortcuts, I’ve only had a few problems with it.
But then I started being plagued by an OpenDNS – http://www.website-unavailable.com. It would show up unexpectedly when I wanted to access addresses in our VPN (and they were available, too). It happened intermittently and was very annoying. I switched my chrome plugins on and off, I searched chrome settings high and low. But lo and behold, there it happened again and again when I least expected it. BTW, my Chromium didn’t have this problem, neither did Firefox. Only Chrome, but that’s what I use most.

And this is only today that I find that what I was battling against all this time is my Linux Mint default settings.

See http://opensourcemissions.wordpress.com/2013/07/16/removing-opendns-nameservers-from-linux-mint/.

Thank you, guitarmanvt.

About Maryna Cherniavska

I have productively spent 10+ years in IT industry, designing, developing, building and deploying desktop and web applications, designing database structures and otherwise proving that females have a place among software developers. And this is a good place.
This entry was posted in linux. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Your minty flavor kind of smells

  1. guitarmanvt says:

    Glad it helped! 🙂

Leave a Reply

