DOU Hackathon project

I am not a very smart person.
To tell the truth, I’m sure that learning new things is harder for me than for an average bloke. Also, notwithstanding me being essentially an IT person, I still like some women things. Like, knitting. Or reading “bonnet books” and watching “bonnet series”, as my husband calls them (meaning there’s a lot of women wearing bonnets there – like, regency period!). So when I come home, sometimes I’d prefer to take up the needles or put on a TV series.

But you remember me being more thick than the usual tech person right? And this is the reason I don’t usually do that now (well almost. Well OK, sometimes I do but much less often!). Instead, I take up Coursera courses or read programming books.

And what else can one do when one’s not the brightest person there is?

Find a genius, join him in something he does and share the credit! (And hopefully learn something from the smarter person.)

And this is exactly why I already did two hackathons with Alexey!
He’s a genius and he’s always got new ideas. And he doesn’t get deterred by such small things as using a programming language or tool for the first time – piece of cake!

http://douhack.challengepost.com/submissions/33136-

The idea is to¬†reformat Javascript as beautiful ASCII-art pictures while preserving code functionallity. Of course you realize that it’s a project made in under 24 hrs so don’t deploy that code to prod just yet!
But the idea is neat right? And it was a chance to try clojure script too!

About Maryna Cherniavska

I have productively spent 10+ years in IT industry, designing, developing, building and deploying desktop and web applications, designing database structures and otherwise proving that females have a place among software developers. And this is a good place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

