Cluster Analysis – Coursera

I have been taking MOOC courses sometimes, mainly Coursera as it’s been the first and for some time the only course provider I knew. The first three courses they offered were Databases, Machine learning and Artificial Intelligence; I took the first two. From then on, I turn to Coursera and some other places to make me a better professional (that still leaves much to be desired btw, but it’s hardly the courses’ fault). So, the current one I am taking is Cluster Analysis, part of Data Mining specialization.

And there’s really not much to say about it, because:

  • first of all, it seems to me that when Coursera went for specializations, the courses lost some of their quality, because for long specializations individual courses became shorter and the material got cut or squeezed uncomfortably. Where before it was 6 to 10 weeks on average, it is now 4 to 5.
  • second, reading the slides isn’t enough to constitute a good lecture.
  • third, chinese accent is really difficult to understand.
  • and fourth, maybe it’s not my field after all, but I am very very bored and hanging on by last threads of hope to finish.

If I continue this specialization this will only be based on my obstinacy and wish to finish what I have started. But maybe I should at least pause after this course and look around in search of the fields that are more attractive to me personally.

About Maryna Cherniavska

I have productively spent 10+ years in IT industry, designing, developing, building and deploying desktop and web applications, designing database structures and otherwise proving that females have a place among software developers. And this is a good place.
This entry was posted in MOOC and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

