Organizing your mind: books to Trello

I have a lot of books to read.

Actually, I have read a lot of books, too. I am always reading. When I was a kid, the easiest way to shut me up and give my parents some peace and quiet was to give me a book. At first it was fairy tales, then myths and legends, adventure, science fiction, fantasy etc. And now that I am all grown up and have to take care of my professional education, it’s often programming books. Though I can’t pretend to have given up my love of fiction. How could I not have read Game of Thrones? (Twice. And will probably be going on the third time if Mr. George Martin continues to hold up on the next book.) How could I have not read Harry Potter? (I am not saying how many times.) How could I not read… whatever, I think the point is obvious here.

However believe it or not, until now my professional reading was woefully non-systematic.
I just bought the books on Amazon (or downloaded them from free sources), dumped them to my Kindle, and then read them when I had time AND accidentally discovered one of them or when I was browsing for the next programming-oriented read and just happened to come across one of them. There was no particular order, and I wasn’t even sure how many and which programming books I had on my device and still unread. I am sure half of them were completely forgotten.

Then one of my coworkers offered me to share my personal reading list on Trello, and in return he’d share his.

A reading list!
Like, there should totally be a light bulb picture here. No, I am actually going to go and find one.

light bulb picture

Here it is. Pretty right?
So, back to reading lists.
As I might have already mentioned (or not), Trello is one of the tools that help out in our work. It allows to create a dashboard consisting of cards which support, for example, a Kanban-like agile approach.

For a book list, it is as simple as having a board with three columns: To Read, Reading, Have Read.

The columns are built stack-like, so you move the items you want to read first to the top of the list (usually. Maybe the bottom will work for you?). This way, it’s very easy to see how many you still have, what is still valid and what might already be obsolete, and whether you need to get into some other areas or you have your hands full as it is (turns out that I do. I can’t possibly read all that I have stacked there in a year)!

So. Obviously, someone has her work cut out.
And this way, one less thing on my mind – I don’t have to try and remember what I have stored and what I want to read anymore!
Brilliant right?
Pity that it wasn’t my brilliance to get this idea, but at least I can now share it.

About Maryna Cherniavska

I have productively spent 10+ years in IT industry, designing, developing, building and deploying desktop and web applications, designing database structures and otherwise proving that females have a place among software developers. And this is a good place.
This entry was posted in Learning, tools and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Organizing your mind: books to Trello

  1. Oleksiy says:

    Nice hack. There are specialized services that can integrate with Kindle and give recommendations. I use Goodreads, many others exist too.

Leave a Reply

