Why Google is worried, or Are you scared of job interviews?

Recently I’ve been contacted by a Google recruiter, who wrote that she saw my CV in their database and decided to contact me about an opportunity in Switzerland. I declined, because at the time I had a lot on my plate, but she was so friendly and apologetic that I decided to hop on a short call she asked for. During the call I explained that I had a lot of things to think of, and also that I have already been burned once with a Google interview and really didn’t want to repeat the lackluster performance. After all, every such thing is one more crack in one’s morale.

In response, she offered me to have a call with one of the female Google developers, who’d explain their interview process to me in more detail and who might give some hints for me to be more successful in future. Also, it turns out that right now Google is working hard to make the procedure more friendly and less intimidating. For  example, they’ve been conducting a few events with practice mock interviews, after which people could elect to do a real onsite interview and some of them did, because the mock interviews helped them see that it wasn’t as scary as it sounded. Moreover, she told me that technical screening task, which I had to do in a Google Doc (and it’s almost as bad as a whiteboard – or should I say, it’s a very, very much an acquired taste), is currently held within a specially made application (hopefully with at least a syntax highlighting and some formatting). All these steps should provide a less painful experience for the candidates.

One might wonder, is Google experiencing a shortage of candidates? It’s really difficult to believe. I always thought that the competition to get there was crazy.

However, only today I read a post on Facebook: “I was scared of Facebook or Google, so I was looking for a job with the smaller startup companies”. That from a person who was teaching other people how to program and took part in quite a few hackathons.

I kinda thought it was just me that had an awful fear of interviews. I sometimes dreamt of being a part of the giant companies but I tried a few times and failed. Now I think I will probably never get there.

But if Google is worried about that problem, then it means I am probably not the only one.

About Maryna Cherniavska

I have productively spent 10+ years in IT industry, designing, developing, building and deploying desktop and web applications, designing database structures and otherwise proving that females have a place among software developers. And this is a good place.
This entry was posted in interviews, Programming, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

